Day 2: shlumpy

heeeyyooooo.

let’s chat.

Sugar gives you energy. Welllll… like, fake energy. It makes you feel awesome and all “I can conquer the world!!”
then it rejects you an hour later and is all “ha, ha SUCKER. Now you just want me more.”
I’m feeling the rough reality of this today.

Usually I’m all like:

 

thanks to hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com for being hilarious

but today I’m all:

also hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com, y’all she’s far funnier than me

for real.
I’m feeling a little shlumpy. Shlumpy? You know… kind of… SHLUMPY.
That’s all there is to it. Not bad. Just “bleeh.”

I LOATHE bananas. LOATHING. You can ask roomie Emily. They are for sure on my T5 “things I will NOT be snacking on today” list. However, today I looked forward to my banana snack with such glittery, shiny hope you would’ve thought that someone had promised me a really big cookie.
I’m already excited about tomorrow’s banana snack. I’m going for the fake-out soft serve by freezing a banana and then sticking it in the food processor. I can’t wait.

Let’s talk day one. It really wasn’t too bad…

Until 3 o’clock. HOLY COW. It was like someone took all of my pizazz and put it in a box and then put that box inside of another box… and mailed it to Yzma, who smashed it with a hammer (Emperor’s New Groove, hello?!).
Then I grabbed a green apple (we’re allowed a green apple OR a banana everyday) with some almond butter and went for a run. Boom baby. Back in action.

So far, it hasn’t been too difficult to find things that I can eat that fit within the constraints, the trouble is finding things that I WANT to eat.

Today’s win was:Β Spaghetti Squash CasseroleΒ from RealSimple.com
It wins because it was covered in cheese. DUH. Everything is better covered in cheese. That part doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to me, but I’m not going to abuse the cheese thing. Gross.

Last night I went to bed completely EXHAUSTED. Today is not nearly as bad. Probably because I didn’t run today.
Tomorrow. Day 3.
1/7 of the way there.

highlight: how incredibly delightful the spaghetti squash cheese masterpiece smelled coming out of the oven.
lowpoint: seeing that International Delight has now released their Pumpkin Spice flavored creamer into the world for the fall. I may or may not have thrown a personal pity party in the middle of Wal-Mart.Β 

 

One thought on “Day 2: shlumpy

  1. I laughed my way through this entire post. I think my favorite line was, “I’m already excited about tomorrow’s banana snack.” Love being in this with you. The photos are perfect, by the way.

Leave a Reply

